Areaman Homepage

The 24 Hour Plays, 2014

Areaman are proud to have supported Dublin Youth Theatre by filming the 24 hours of creative graft that preceeded the performance of The 24 Hour Plays, 2014 at The Abbey Theatre. Our behind the scenes film screened just before the 6 brand new plays were presented, giving the audience a sense of the chaos, fun and hard work that went into conceiving of and staging a play within 24 hours.

For one night only Ireland’s most talented stars of stage and screen joined forces to create six brand new plays written, rehearsed and presented all within 24 hours. 

This annual fundraiser delighted and excited as Ireland’s leading actors, playwrights, and directors of stage and screen returned to create, rehearse, and present 6 brand new short plays in just 24 hours! The Actors taking part included: Domhnall Gleeson, Jay Duffy, Ali White, Lauren Larkin, Kelly Campbell, Aaron Heffernan and Ger Kelly, Karen Ardiff, Paul Reid, Hilda Fay (Fair City), Shane O’ Reilly, Michelle McMahon, Bryan Burroughs, Louise Lewis, Barry O’Connor, Jacinta Sheerin, Will O’Connell, Clare Barrett, Sam O’Mahony, Fiona Bell, Aoibheann McCaul and Kathy Rose O’Brien. The team of writers were: Michelle Read, Gavin Kostick, Abbie Spallen, Carmel Winters, Ross Dungan and Mark Cantan. The directors were Lynne Parker, Jim Culleton, Tom Creed, Peter Daly, Maisie Lee and Louise White. 

Dublin Youth Theatre is a registered charity celebrating its 37th anniversary this year. Since its foundation it has forged a unique contribution to Irish theatre and youth work. DYT currently has a membership of 120 young people aged 14-22 from all across Dublin attending on a weekly basis.

The show is presented under a license and with the participation of The 24 Hour Company, New York, NY and is produced by Eva Scanlan, Grace Dyas and Phillip McMahon as a fundraising event for Dublin Youth Theatre.